~
you're reading...
JOURNALING, knowledge, SHARING, tips

3 Reasons to Keep a Journal or Personal Blog


Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios bloggeando

Last November, right after Thanksgiving, my dad passed away suddenly. It’s an understatement to say I was devastated. When a love one dies suddenly you’re left with this empty, painful feeling deep deep inside that only time can help. My dad was a great writer but wasn’t into writing for pleasure and definitely not into blogging or vlogging. But how I wished he was, I would love to read some letters or watch videos of him speaking directly to me.
It would make days like today, which is his birthday, much more bearable.

I can’t conceive of the fact that he will never speak to me again or smile and laugh with me. I’m dealing with all of that. I’ve kept some sort of journal or blog in the past 5 years and have taken extensive movies and pictures except I have things scattered all over the place…some written…some saved online…emails…blogs. Since his passing I’ve realized the importance of journaling even more and I’ve really ‘upped my personal blogging. I’ve made it a goal of mine to get all of this stuff together and keep it in a safe place for my children or any loved ones that remain after I’m gone.

I’ve started Vlogging which is video blogging for those of you that aren’t sure what vlogging is. I’m using YouTube and really can’t think of a better place to host my videos. It’s free, I’m able to upload 15 minute videos which is enough even for someone as long winded. as I am.

An Important Reason to Keep a Journal

Journaling or keeping a personal blog or even a published blog or both like I do, will be one of the greatest gifts you can give your loved ones. They will be able to see a side of you that they maybe never knew. They will have something to go to when they feel like they need to be near you.. You are leaving a legacy of yourself for generations to come.

Do you need another reason?

Have you ever tried to remember something that you thought was real important at the time and can’t seem to recall it like you thought you would? I do all the time. Life is fleeting and I wish that I would have started journaling way before I did. I wish I would have started when my children were born, or even before that. How I would love to go back and read some of the things I was going through in high school. The silly things me and my friends did would be something else to read right now. Encourage your children and loved ones to journal, have them read this article to see what the benefits of journaling can do for them and their future.

It’s good for your soul

Writing has become more than just keeping a journal or trying to remember something for me. It’s a gift for me from me. It’s a gift that I give myself everyday (well almost everyday). It helps me to be more creative and get everything out of my head. I can think clearer and I feel accomplished even if I don’t do anything else for the day. My personal blog was indispensable for me after my dad passed. Even though he didn’t leave a journal, I had a journal that included posts about him that I had previously written. It’s been a blessing to go back and read these posts.

So you don’t think you can write?

Can you talk? That’s all you have to do is talk. While you’re talking type it down or use a voice recorder and sit back and talk out what you’re feeling and go back to it later.
The vlog may take some time getting used to but you will get the hang of it and if you’re not happy with the outcome you can always start over. I’m not into censoring my personal blog but I do it sometimes when I”m posting one. Try to never go back and censor an older post. Remember your loved ones want to see you as they remember you so you don’t have to go to the spa first. either- Yes women we can do this!

Try a few of these if you have writer’s block

Journaling Ideas to crack even the worst writer’s block

I’m looking forward to…
I remember when…
being a mom/dad/son/daughter/grandma/grandpa (you get the idea) means…..to me
being a friend means…
I am enthusiastic about…
being a person is…
I will work long and hard for…
when I had my son/daughter I felt…
I think people should…
the happiest moment in my life is…
the thing I would like to improve about myself is…
I wish I could go back and change…
today I’m really proud of (someone)…
my goals are…
something I’m proud of is…
something I’m not proud of is…
my greatest concern is…
life today is…
I feel like withdrawing when…
the most important thing in life to me is…
my dreams for my child are…
I enjoy…
I feel stupid when…
I am lonely when…
I feel most confident about…
…is in charge of my life
my greatest asset is…
the one talent that I posses is…
my greatest interest is…
I see my greatest strength as…
I see my greatest weakness as…
I view my family as…

I found this list of 1000 ideas for writing. It’s full of all different types of ideas to kick that writers block to the curb.

I hope this post has helped someone who is thinking of starting a journal. I try to keep it short so I know that there are many more ideas out there and all comments are welcome. What platform or application do you use for your personal blogging?

Cheryl Rogers

About sharingitforward

Hi, I'm Cheryl Rogers and this is my blog, Sharing it Forward. I hope you enjoyed this post and share it with your friends. If you have something to share please comment.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “3 Reasons to Keep a Journal or Personal Blog

  1. I believe this is among the so much vital info for me. And i am glad studying your article. However want to remark on few basic issues, The site taste is wonderful, the articles is truly excellent : D. Just right task, cheers

    Posted by vanessa blog | April 18, 2012, 11:04 PM
  2. I will immediately grasp your rss as I can’t to find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognise in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Posted by Hammer Drills | April 18, 2012, 2:16 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Blogs the internet and self-censorship. « ahimsamaven - April 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

